How do I update my Canvas to the newest release?

I’m new to Canvas, so apologies if I missed something obvious, but I haven’t been able to find in the documentation or in this forum how to update my Canvas to the newest release. It appears that Canvas is updated regularly, but I don’t see how to make an update. Can someone point me in the right direction? Thanks!

2 Likes

Hi @david, Thanks so much for your message! :slight_smile:

That’s a great question; the latest Canvas releases can be found on this page. Releases relate to the Canvas Base Template or the Canvas Chrome extension.

For releases that affect the Canvas Base Template, those updates are only applied to brand new apps created with the Base Template after the release was pushed to live. These updates usually relate to the design and functionality of the built-in Canvas Base Template pages and reusable elements (e.g., the admin portal, login page, account page, legal pages, and the header). There is not currently a way to sync those types of updates with existing Bubble applications, so the release is mainly relevant for those creating brand new apps with the Canvas Base Template. At times, a release may be related to a specific error fix for existing apps created with the Canvas Base Template, and in those cases, the release will have a clickable link that leads to any steps that you might need to take in your app.

For releases that relate to the Canvas Chrome extension (e.g., new blocks, new page templates, new styles), the extension will automatically display all of the library assets and prompt you to update your app’s styles if they are needed to use any newly released assets. Similarly, the Canvas Marketing Page Builder will automatically update to display the newly released homepage blocks as long as the app was created after the Marketing Page Builder was first released.