Need help setting up filters

Hi!

So I’ve been trying for an hour now to set up the filters_template in my app. I looked through the forum and didn’t see any posts about the filters element, so hopefully this helps me and someone else struggling with this.

For context, I have a repeating group with a list of users and the employee resource groups (ERGs) that they are a member of. I want to use the filter element to filter the members by either first name (text input) or by ERG (checkbox list). The instructions aren’t super detailed so here’s what I have:

1. I added two custom states to the filters_template element so users can filter by either an ERG or the name of a member.

2. I updated the data source/type of content on the Repeating Group List element to by ERGs (not sure if this is correct or not)

3. On the parent page, I’m not sure what data source to use for the filters_members element should be.

Admittedly, this is my first time using custom states so it’s very possible that I just don’t full get it, but I think my biggest confusion comes from how to get the custom states from the reusable element to be accessible on the parent page.

Any and all help is appreciated!!!

Hello Toby,

Thanks for trying out Canvas and sorry to hear those instructions aren’t clear.

Try setting up a workflow to change the custom state’s value when the value on the page is changed:

If only one thing needs passed from the page to the reusable element, you could also pass it as the data source for the reusable:

2 Likes

Hey Chris - sorry, I’m not following. How do I access the value of the filter_template from the parent page?

You have “When SearchBox A’s value…” in that screenshot, but where is the searchbox in your app? If that SearchBox A value is tied to the reusable, how did you access it from the parent page?