New project with new design engine

Hey guys,

In the next few weeks I will start building my app.

I have a question regarding the new design engine that is right now still in beta.

Is it possible to use the new design engine in combination to the canvas modules and element’s ?

To me it seems like the wrong decision to start building with the old engine if in a few months I will have to rebuild it again.

I am new to bubble and canvas so please correct me if Iam wrong.

I would like to know how to proceed.

Thanks a lot !

2 Likes

facing the same quandary here. It would be nice to know ETA for the Canvas update to the new responsive engine. If it’s going to be a couple of weeks, it might be worth the wait. A couple of months, may not be.

1 Like

Hi @user46 and @rmalt22,

Great question! We are as excited about the new Bubble responsive engine as many of you are. We’re currently waiting on Bubble to implement padding & gap controls for the new engine (small features but important ones to have before we rebuild our asset library). This will likely take them a few more weeks to do. After that, we’re looking at between 1 to 2 months to fully transition the Base Template and Canvas assets to the new responsive engine. Again, this is a rough estimate and is subject to change but just wanted to provide everyone with a timeline.

Hope this helps!

3 Likes

Hi @stephanie

I’m facing a similar problem to the above posters.

Here are some of my questions:

• If I start using Canvas to build my application with the old-responsiveness engine now, how hard will the new transition be when the new template and plugins come out? Will AirDev provide guidance on how to best do this?
  • What mechanisms will AirDev introduce to help with the transition if an application is already built using the old engine and old Canvas assets?